Remove Share App in App

Simple one, I don’t necessarily want a person using an app created to easily share it any further than their local phone install.

Could we have a checkbox to enable / disable?

A relatively easy request to consider / implement.

Thx,
Paul

1 Like

Did you get a response for this? Did you figure out a work around to do get prevent users from sharing the app with others?

The only true way to prevent sharing is to use a whitelist. Anybody could share the url by word of mouth or even writing a public article about it. Not opposed to the request, but just want to stress that removing the sharing screen is not fool proof.

Could you tell us what your use case for this is? Who are the people who install the app, and why are they not supposed to share it?

I’ll always accept that fact that there will be a URL associated to the app and THAT will always be shareable… no worries there. I also appreciate that I have access options via the various auth methods (password, whitelist etc).

To clarify (just in case), my query was around disabling / removing the ‘Share App’ functions within the installed app. This would allow me to better control installs of an app and de-clutter within the app a little.

A simple enable / disable toggle in the glideapps interface would give us that flexibility.

That answer your query?

No, sorry. I’m curious who your users are, and why you want them to not share the app?

It’s my app where I share my guidebook (created in glide) with each Airbnb Guest before they arrive.

I want to keep it public so it’s frictionless but I also want to discourage a Guest sharing the app (once it’s installed) with others as it has personal contact details in it. It’s a Pro app so I could head down the path of using various auth but again - adds too much friction to my mind.

Appreciate that it’s not strictly a secure approach - it’s not a deal breaker… just a feature request. :wink:

I see. That makes sense. Thank you!

@Mark for pro-Gliders who have are using the email whitelist feature, these share buttons/QR codes both in the app and on the browser-based previewer-app don’t make a whole lot of sense. I’m also happy to share why I’m using the email whitelist feature, since it’s the same reason I’d love to vanish those share buttons: my app is still in development.

@Paul Since this thread top popped up again, I just had a thought. This might be hard with a public app, but maybe you could have a screen where the user needs to first enter a pin number. Using an IF-THEN-ELSE column you could compare the entered pin to a pin set by the airbnb host. The result of the If-Then-Else could be True or False. Then you can use the simple value column to pull that true/false value into all other sheets where you can then set the visibility of components based on the value. The part that I think might be a bit complicated is that the entry field for the pin would be shared among all users, so security-wise all users would see everything once the guest enters the correct pin code. I would love to see a column option that doesn’t actually write the stored value to the sheet, but instead stores the value somehow on glide uniquely to the device. I thought maybe you would have a way to implement this. It’s still friction-less as the user doesn’t need to sign into the app and the pin could be something simple like the guests phone number.