A question about lists

I assume I can build a completely different-looking list based on the same relation column on different locations of a site. That seems the case when I choose a card list component on the user profile tab instead of the list view I use elsewhere in the site. But when I start editing the detail view in the card list it affects as well the detail view in the list view elsewhere. What do I do wrong?

Yeah, this can be a bit tricky.

If you want different details views from the same list, generally what you need to do is change the default action on one of the lists. Instead of Show Details->This item, make it Show New Screen->This item.

This works in most cases, but not all. I don’t think I’ve ever figured out exactly when it works and when it doesn’t. @Jeff_Hager can probably answer that one.

2 Likes

Mmm … this is not what I would expect from my precious Glide. Feels a logical thing to want. But then again, I’m not technical, what do I know, maybe it’s very complex or not logical at all.

Well, the thing is that a details view is attached to the underlying table. In most cases this is a good thing, because it means you can view the details from different parts of your app without having to rebuild it all the time. So your use case is probably the exception rather than the rule.

I’m not going to attempt to explain it any further, as I’ll probably mess it up. I’ll leave the more detailed explanation to Jeff :wink:

2 Likes

I would say, you have the underlying data and with lists you can choose different views on that set of data. Every time you add a list component, it’s a new view on that same set of data. I don’t think it’s an exceptional use case to have different views with the same data. That’s too easy :wink:

But I’m going to try your new screen option, thanks!

This helps for now! Thanks!

I think @Darren_Murphy explained it pretty well. Once you know the rules, it’s pretty easy, but feels hard to explain to others.