Unable to use columns for certain Glide features (metadata, grouping, in-app filters)

Hi,

I’m creating an app where users are able to browse a list of typical project management issues and see concrete examples for these issues. I created and maintain the data in Airtable where I have two tables: “issues” and “examples”. They’re linked using Airtable “linked columns” and it’s meant to be an “n to n” relationship where one issue can have multiple examples and one example can apply to multiple issues.

I’ve been working on this for a while and several problems are blocking me; keep in mind I’m a novice, so I might be misunderstanding a few things.

In Glide, I created a list component with the examples and thought I’d have the option to:

• Display issues associated with each example as metadata
  • Allow users to filter examples by selecting one or more issue
  • Group the examples by issue.
    Note that my goal is not to do all these things at the same time, as it might not make much sense from a user experience standpoint. But I thought these options would be feasible in Glide.

However, I can’t see the issues table appear in the options for metadata, in-app filters, or grouping. Below are screenshots to illustrate some of what I’ve done.

1. The list of issues in Airtable

2. The list of issues in Glide

3. The list of examples in Airtable

4. The list of examples in Glide

5. The options I see when trying to add the issues as metadata for the examples list

6. The list of options I see when trying to use the issues for in-app filtering of the examples

I’m not sure what’s preventing me from using certain columns for certain Glide features:

• Is it because some columns have multiple values for a given row?
  • Is it because some columns are of the wrong type (e.g., can’t relations columns be used for metadata, grouping, in-app filtering)?