IoT Demo Project

Hi Everyone,

A few weeks ago I learnt about Glide.
It gave me the feeling I could build something very fast.
So I wanted to show how fast you could learn and build something useful with it.

After 2 weeks of going through the Video tutorials and online materials I’ve built this app.
I made an integration with an asset tracking (IoT) device in order to locate & recover stolen objects.

The app is built using:

• GlideApps offcourse :wink:
  • Google Sheets
  • Zapier
  • Viloc API (webhooks)

It doesn’t really make sense I think to share the link of the app itself since without access to the other API’s and Zapier it doesn’t really work. So I made a video to showcase the app which you can view below.

I’m not a coder, I didn’t have any previous knowledge apart from Excel.
And I used to work for Viloc so I know a little bit about their API (webhooks + JSON) and had a clear end-application in mind.

Glide - Viloc Demo Asset Tracking App

Looking forward to hear your questions and comments!

@Darren_Murphy @DarrenHumphries @gvalero @ThinhDinh @JackVaughan @eltintero > thanks for your support on the forum - really like this community!

btw: Anybody else working on IoT related no-code projects?

Best regards,

Tim

Some feedback for Glide: (things I ran into building the app and while learning about Glide)

• It would be nice to have a proper QR code scanner > this way we can easily connect API’s and couple devices - the current implementation (at least for me) is simply not working
  • There’s no proper way to capture the user time zone (apart from very complex solutions offered on the forum). All the timing Glide is in the timezone of the device, while my IoT API only uses UTC, as a result I can’t really make calculations since these will differ from region to region.