🤔 How to: Troubleshoot app freezing up or flashing a screen after adding a row?

Hello!

The forum doesn’t have recent mentions on delays/lags/ screen freezes.

But two things are happening:

1. Hit submit → the processes and shows the message .-> screen resets… and then it comes back up. lol Sometime it will flash for a second and other times it will stay for a while.
  2. Some devices will show some components but not others. The I.T. side of me expects lag times so I’m hoping this is "normal’.

Just as a reference point:

1. The app currently doesn’t have any active users except me testing it out.
  2. None of the actions have a “wait” or a ‘go back’ anymore after disabling them to no avail.
  3. The laptops, tablets and cell phones are in working order and run youtube streaming just fine.
  4. MOST notably… I am new to Glide Apps, so I will never 100% rule a misstep on MY part!! :rofl::saluting_face:

Thanks

Jamie

More information about the action sequence would be helpful, including a screen shot.

• You mention that a row is added. Is that all that happens in the action?
  • If there are more steps - what are they?
  • Is this a native form, or a custom form?
  • If a native form, is there any onSubmit action?
  • If yes, what does that look like?

If you want to help diagnosing this, you need to show us what we are trying to diagnose :wink:

2 Likes

As a complement to Darren’s questions, I would add:

• Keep your set up as super simple as possible.
  • To add an item, use a native form provided by Glide (“Show Form Screen” action), not a custom form
  • Use native actions provided by Glide. If really you want to create your own custom actions in the action editor, fine, but keep your sequences simple (only one or two steps maximum, no branches)
  • Avoid conditions on your actions.