Help with visibility

Hello people, I’m a novice on app creation and I was looking for some help on the app that I am building for my business

I have a very large wine cellar with more than 500 types of wine and I wanted to create an app where customers can look up the price of each item by searching either its name or barcode number

I’ve created a data table with a few entries that include Article name, barcode number, image, and price. I then created a new screen with the data and now each article is neatly listed where people can see its information

Here is my problem: I want to make it so when you open this data screen, no articles are displayed by default. The only way to find an article price is to search for it in a unique manner (i.e. an article only shows up if you completely type its barcode number)

Can someone please help me with this? I’ve been playing around with it for weeks and can’t figure it out

Ideally you would have a separate table with a single row. In that table add a user specific text column. That table will be the source of your tab. On the tab screen, add a text entry component, which will serve as your search. In the wines table add a single value column that retrieves the value from the user specific column in your single row table. Now you can add IF columns in the wines table that compare that single value to other columns. For example…If value is included in barcode then return true, or If value is included in wine name then return true. Add a collection to your tab and filter it to only show rows where the if column is checked (true) and the single value column is not empty.

2 Likes

Hi Jeff,

Thank you for your answer. I’ve completed those steps up until the IF columns - I’m a little lost and I was wondering if there is some kind of tutorial on it

If you can show some screenshots showing where you are stuck, we should be able to help you out.

Hi Jeff,