Vehicle Battery Finder

Hi Community, I am totally new to this with less then 48hours.

I am trying to create an APP that allows you to find the vehicle battery for your car and then give you details of that battery.

I have 2 main sheets :

1. a battery table that lists the Battery_Model and then then all the other info (weight, size, plates, amp hours, etc…)
  2. a vehicle sheet that has vehicle_make, vehicle_model, Battery_Model

I want the user to tell me their make and model of vehicle, so I can then tell them the Battery_Model. I understand I can create a relation column on Battery_Model, BUT, how to select the row in the vehicle sheet based on 2 column search criteria/parameters ?

I assume you’re letting users write their info into another table. Let’s call that “Users’ vehicles”.

In your “Vehicles” sheet, you can create a template column to join your make and model into one. Let’s say something like Car A - Model A.

Then create the same template column in your “Users’ vehicles” sheet, link the two using a relation (from Users’ vehicles to Vehicles).

Then use a lookup to return the Battery_Model column to your “User’s vehicles” sheet.

That should be enough if all you want is to display the battery model. If you want more info then create a relation to the Battery table.

WOW… the support/community is fantastic… look forward to contributing soon.

users write into another table → yes and no. where a user creates his profile and add his vehicle into the app then yes I am writing that data into a sheet and then automatically pull in the battery using (choice buttons to help me drill down). However, I wanted to give the user the ability to just search for a battery without having to write/record data e.g he was just doing a temp search for a battery for a friends vehicle (I can just create a temp sheet if I have to write to sheet)