User specific columns and Airtable Sync

Hi

It seems that if a table is sync’d with Airtable - and I add a text column within that sync’d AIrtable table - it can only be User Specific.

Seems odd

Is that really the case, or am I missing something?

Andrew

I think that is the case with both Airtable and Excel. Only Google allows normal columns to be created through the API connection to the third party data source. Your only option is to create the new columns in Airtable.

3 Likes

Thanks Jeff

Shame - as I don’t need the column to sync to Airtable. I was only using it for a simple “Status” field for some log entries (main log entries stored in Airtable) so that the interface would be snappier and not suffer from a lag whilst the data sync’d with Airtable.

I am not a programmer - but I can’t think of a reason why columns added to a table sync’d to Airtable in Glide would have to be User Specific

Thanks again,
Andrew

I think it’s an Airtable limitation where you can’t create basic columns in Airtable externally. To work around that limitation, Glide still allows you to create a column within the data editor, but the only option is to be user specific, which isn’t ideal since user specific columns hold unique values for each user.

There’s nothing stopping you from creating the column within Airtable though.