User adds to an existing field

I’m new to Glide. My app is a list of people and miles they run/walk/bike.

How can a user update their miles without having to “do the math”? In other words…I need a way for a user to enter NEW MILES and have the app add it to the existing total.

Should be simple, but I can’t figure it out.

Thanks.

Depending on how your data is set up, a relation column from the user to the data, and a rollup column that uses the relation and sums the total miles should be all that you need.

Hey Jeff, thanks for the response. I’m afraid I still don’t understand. Trying to research, but perhaps you can guide me a bit.

My data just has info for each user which includes a column for TOTAL MILES. I’d like a simple way for a user to enter NEW MILES and have that added to TOTAL MILES and then overwrite with the new total.

Perhaps you can point me to a tutorial or an example?

Thhanks.

How do you track mileage? Do you have a user sheet and a log sheet where you add a new row each time a user does an activity? Or is there no history log and you trying to do everything on one row?

Either way will work, but I need to understand your data layout first.

Currently, user just adds NEW MILES from the edit screen. And I would like that added to EXISTING MILES and then have the sum overwrite the old value for EXISTING MILES.

No need for a log of each week’s activity. In fact, I’d want the value of NEW MILES to return to 0.

I’d like to have a button that says ADD MILES but seems like buttons can’t do that?

Thanks.

Ok, all of the following will be on the Details/View screen. We won’t be adding the new miles in an Edit screen.

• So in this case what I would do is create a user specific column to temporarily hold the New Miles value.
  • Then you can create a number entry component on the screen and point it to the new column you created. This is where the user will enter their New Miles.