Stuck on select lists

I am new to Glide but old to programming. This software is so slick but I can’t for the life of me figure out how to do a simple select list from another table.

I have “Items”. One of the fields is “Category”, so I made a Categories table. Categories only has “id” and “name”.

In “Items”, I have “Category”, which I have set to accept “category_id”, which is easy to set when creating a new Picker with the display as Name and value as ID.

But… when I go to acess Category for a specific Item, it only displays the ID, rather than allowing it to grab the related Name. So, for instance, my filter looks like this:

I figured maybe there is a “Computed” type for category_id, but those just seem to grab the raw data, rather than creating a related table.

Tried all I can think of…and I am now stuck. Any advice is helpful!

Hi, on your option panel on the right side of you Glide editor, you can select the filters and replace ID by Names :slight_smile:

Hello and welcome to the community :partying_face:

In case the Name is not in that table what you could do is create a SINGLE Relation from the ID in your Items table to the ID in your Categories table and then use a Lookup Column via that Relation to return the Name. Finally use that Lookup Column as the source of your filter.

1 Like

@lucas: thank you. The problem is… the data in the column is the category_id. And there doesn’t seem to be a way to show a different value via lookup?

@eric: thanks. So you’re saying in my Items table, I would have two columns: “category_name” (single relation to grab the name) AND "category_id"which holds the relation id?

2 columns total… a relation and a lookup

Create a Single relation between this ID column in the items table and the ID column in your categories table.

Next add a lookup column, use the relation above and return the Name column.