Relation between two columns within the same sheet

Hello everyone,
I’m new with glide, just practicing for about 1 month or so.

So i made this glide app: Parmalivery
It is basically a showcase of merchants, artisans and businesses that provide home delivery / home service in Parma, my beautiful city in Italy :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

Under the hood, my spreadsheet is divided in two sheets:

• Merchants sheet: with business names, categories, addresses (about 350 records)
  • Categories sheet: with category name and the category icon associated (about 50 records)

So in “Merchant sheet” I setup:

• a Relation column that links Merchants sheet’s categories with Categories’ category name
  • a Lookup column to get the category icon based on the Relation column

It works fine. However, beeing poor ( :sweat_smile: ), I’m using the free plan and I’m getting close to the 500 rows limit. So I’m trying to get rid of the Categories sheet to save 50 records by

• copying the columns from Categories sheet to Merchant sheet
  • editing the Relation column to link two columns in the same sheet, the Merchant sheet.

The problem occours here: when I try to setup the Relation within the same sheet, what I obtain in the column is not the category name but the “business name” of the merchant. Screen attached.

What I’m doing wrong? Any suggestion would be appreciated.

Thank you
Vincenzo

You aren’t doing anything wrong. Relations always show the first column from the matching rows. It’s just telling you that there is a matching row. Relations are rows. Lookups get a specific column from that matching row.

3 Likes

We need some TShirts made with these mantras. Add it to “Layouts are tied to sheets” and “Create a template column joining value with ‘true’”. :rofl:

4 Likes

Tell me about it. I need a text file of canned responses, or my own FAQ.

2 Likes

Thank you for the answers.