Python and Google Sheets Integration (Zapier free alternative)

Hey guys, everthing great?
Hope you’re all developing great apps with glide!

First of all, I’d like to share my quick story with you:

My developer story

I’m a back-end developer and have absolutely no experience with front-end programming.

For those who doesn’t know, the back-end development is the “logical” programming of an application and the front-end development is the “visual” development of an application.

That being said, I had a huge problem with my startup MVP, because it needed to be a complete application, and all I could develop wasn’t ready for customers to use, because it was basically an API. In other words, a bunch of code.

Glide helped me with that!
And now I’m capable of programming my own back-end logic and using glide as a front-end.
I’m writing this post to people that want to be capable of doing more with Glide, and unleash it’s power.

Today, I’ll teach you how to connect Google Sheets to Python to enhance Glide capabilities even more. For the tutorial, I’m going to code a little e-mail sender example that I think would be useful to many Glide users.

But Gabriel, why it would be useful to me to connect these two if Glide is meant to be a low-code solution for building apps? Isn’t this contradictory?

Well, I don’t think so. If you read my story it will become clear to you that Glide has much more to offer than being just a low-code solution. And in some cases, Glide actually helps people to understand logical programming better. If you need more power from Glide and feels restricted by Google Sheets, this is perfect for you!

Use-cases:

There are so many uses for that integration that I could stand here typing all day long, but I’ll show some examples:

• Zapier free alternative, as Python has a lot of packages to almost any appliance.
    In my app, I use it to send e-mails and integrate with Twilio, to send WhatsApp messages.