Need help with a user-management tab for Admin

Hey - i have a user table and there is user access associated with each of the users ( eg read, write, admin, no-access ). In the table i currently have a number mapped to each of these and i manually update the number corresponding to the user if i want to change his role/access within the app. But i want to create one tab which is visible for Admin only and using which i can see all the users and their access and be able to edit/update the access ( the number column ). What is the best way of doing this?

I want to avoid opening glide table or sheets every time i want to do this and causes a problem when away from the system. So as an admin i should be able to see this tab and change values on the go.

Thanks in advance.
Shiv

In one of my SaaS app created using Glide, I have separate App for myself as an admin to control user which is linked to same Google sheet.

@Pratik_Shah But what kind of view ( component ) you are using so that you can view the user and his role and be able to edit it through the app? I like the idea of keeping the admin functionality outside on a separate app but using same sheet but wondering how to view and edit.

-Shiv

If I am able to understand correctly what you are trying to explain, you can use Detailed view with inline list which has “View Details” action. In each User’s details screen, you can use “Choice” component to change the role.

Ideally this can be achievable in many ways.

2 Likes

Create a tab with the visibility set to if Role is Admin (just an example, change it based on how your data is structured).

Then show a list of all users in the app. As @Pratik_Shah said, in the details view of each user you can have a choice component writing to the Role column, only visible if signed-in user’s role is Admin.

1 Like

Gotcha :slight_smile:

Thanks @Pratik_Shah & @ThinhDinh - The approach suggestion worked.