Lexington by Foot and Phone

Over the last 2 weeks, I have used Glide to reimplement a set of walking tours hosted on a smartphone that I had previously implemented using Weebly. I have switched over to Glide because although I am a good programmer, I wanted to both increase the rate at which I could create these walking tours as well as make it possible for less technically adept people to create similar tours.

The Glide version of this set of walking tours is:

comparison, the Weebly version is:

I am pleased with the results I am getting with Glide, of course with the exception of:

• some errors in my use of Glide
  • some missing features of Glide
    • I would really like to be able to put titles on the map
    • Likewise, I’d love to see markers labeled
  • some unexplained behaviors of Glide
  • I wish there was a way when you click on the icon for a tab to cause the display to:
    • go to the top of the display

The most difficult concept I encountered was the relation mechanism. (I’ve never mastered relational databases) I think I understand the one use I needed (go to the next stop in a sequence of stops). But I gather there is much more to this mechanism.

The capabilities I found most useful are:

• Using Google Sheets for holding data.

• Supporting the idea that in many cases the display of an item can be viewed as a template filled in with details of the item.

• Recognizing that a lot of information is represented as lists of individual items which have many representations:

• as a list
    • as an individual item
    • shown as locations on a map
  • Various ways in which text fields can be overlayed on images for purposes of labeling.

One concern I have for Glide is that the product has drifted away from one of the subtitles:

• Glide: Create apps visually, without code.