I just realized

I’ve been using Glide since September 2020. I’ve learned a lot about how Glide works by reading the documentation, watching the videos, participating in the user community, searching google for answers. Some things are easy, others difficult to learn about and to understand. I think the difficulty is mostly because I haven’t come across explanations of a couple of concepts central to Glide that I can understand. There is also the issue that Glide is changing as it matures.

Some of these mismatches are due to the fact that I know a lot about procedural programming and expect things to work the way they have work in the past. This is not true for two reasons:

1. Glide is new, and not all of the features that make previous systems usable have been programmed into Glide yet.

2. Second, Glide intentionally does things differently. That is the entire purpose of Glide and so is to be expected. The problem is that explanations of new things are difficult to make understandable frequently because they are obvious to the person inventing them, but for people who have not been through the same thought process, these obvious explanations don’t always spark the same intuition.

Two examples I have come across are:

• Relations: I suspect some of the intuition is derived from relational databases. From the current explanations (both documents and videos) I more or less understand what relations are all about. I have also developed some pattern recognition about situations where relations are most likely the mechanism to achieve what I want to do – but I never feel totally confident. What is the solution: I believe additional explanations, demonstrations, and use cases by Glide users who are not part of the development team are needed.

• Glide Data [Editor]: Note: I am going to shorten Glide Data Editor to Glide Data so that the cadence of reading about Google Sheets and Glide Data is a little easier.