Glide Apps for Students

I am a middle school teacher in Baltimore. I was hoping to introduce students to app development using glide app so they can create something and see a product from all the work they put in. Has someone already done this or do you have some suggestions so I don’t reinvent the wheel on this.

As of now I was just going to download a pre-made template to save time, but it would be more effective to have the students input data to learn how sheets work but need to keep it super simple.

1 Like

I am planning to do something similar as well. However, with students, the first hurdle is teaching what spreadsheets are and how to organize the data, regardless of how it should be set up for Glide.

I can’t say for sure if this is going to be hard, or easy with students.
A good starting point would be to identify solutions (apps) that the students can relate with.

1 Like

What is the age group? Depending on the school system it can range from 1st through 8th right? I am not a school teacher but have worked with my grandkids on building a few apps,

I’m working with 6th-8th grade student

I think a good start would be to come up with a simple app idea as a group and work on it together. I’m sure as you work on it, you and several students will have additional ideas for features or design. Once the basics are covered, you could set them loose on their own individual apps of their choosing, or you could come up with a set of data in a spreadsheet and let them use their own vision to create the UI. Although templates are handy, I like developing the basic skeleton of a program and then building in new features or modifying the design. Starting with a mostly developed app can be a little overwhelming for beginners, but starting with something basic and building upon it is the most fun for me.

1 Like