Failing to build some vary basic functionalities. I want to learn - anyone here to help?

Hi all

I’m new to Glide and I have virtually no prior experience in programming or architecture. I have the Starter Team plan.

I’m trying to build a simple web-app that allows the users to do the following:

1. Sign in on the platform → Done
  2. Allow the signed in user John Doe to upload inventory, e.g. a product (Shovel), amount (100), location (area 51) etc. → Done

I have struggles doing the following:

1. The logged in users can only see what they have published, e.g. John Doe only sees his inventory of 100 shovels. → This I have not achieved. John Doe can see ALL inputs. How do i filter/alter visibility that users can only see what they have published?
  2. How can I customize the Sign in page? There is no option to modify the layout in the Sign In screen settings?

I have tried solving this myself. I watched this video but the Glide UI has changed so it’s not that helpful tbh.

Thanks in advance for all guidance :slight_smile:

Hi, the simplest and most secure way, which will also keep your app nice and speedy, is to implement “row owners”. To accomplish this, you must write the signed-in user’s email address to a column in your inventory, and then set that column to be “row owner”. Here, you can see it’s giving me the option to remove the “row owner” setting from the column, because it is already set.

Only the user’s entries will download to the device and be visible.

You can do some customizing, but not of the layout. If you go into your applications settings, there is a “sign-in” options tab (don’t forget to set the “theme”.

Thanks @David_Gabler :slight_smile:

Is there any possibility that Glide could fetch the email automatically whenever someone adds a product, so that neither the user or me (or any admin) would need to manually insert it for the row owner functionality to be used?

Br
Sunray