Add a Data Row to Spread Via GlideApp

Hi I am new to Glide App. I am trying to add a new row of data to my spreadsheet using my glide app, instead of creating the row of data directly on my spreadsheet. I am on the free plan as if now testing. I’m not sure if that’s the reason why I cannot do it. How do I do this?

Thanks

What kind of problem are you having?

I am trying to add a new row of data to my spreadsheet already connected to my glide app. For example, I want to add a new vehicle to my inventory but I do not want to add it on the spreadsheet. I want to do it through the app. Hope you got what I mean.

On your form (in this case, it is a tile form), you will have selected the tab of your spreadsheet that is the base table for your form.

Then on your screen, in this case I click on “tiles”.

That makes the option available for a user to add a record:

Which will make the “+” appear in the upper right hand corner

And take you to the add screen…

2 Likes
2 Likes

David thank you for your help. I have one more question. How do I add a button to allow the same user to delete the item added to the spreadsheet row?

Jeff thank you for your help. I have one more question. How do I add a button to allow the same user to delete the item added to the spreadsheet row?

In the documentation I shared, there is a section on Editing and especially Deleting. Those are actions that you can enable when viewing the details of a list item. You will also notice in the document that there is mention of adding conditions, so you can control who can edit or delete a row. When turning on Edit and Delete modes, you can add a condition, such as ‘Email is Signed in User’. This means only the user that created that row is the one that can edit or delete it. You just need to make sure that your data has a column that contains an email. You can fill that email by adding an Email Special Value component to the Add Form.

1 Like