Triggering onEdit() function in .gs when updating sheet through the app

Hi everyone,

I’m a newb programmer and I hacked through some google script tutorials to get a spread sheet that auto-updates certain cells when they are edited.

For example, I have a field for the street address, the city, and the state, and zip… and then a field for the complete shipping address which is a concatenation of those 4 fields. Also, the sheet autogenerates an order number every time any field is edited. I’m happy to show the code if anyone is interested. It’s not anything elegant or novel…

Anyway, the question I have is, will the google script run when the sheet is updated through the app? It seemed like it does not run. So for example if I enter something on a blank line on google sheets the order number is auto generated, but when I enter a new order in the app it doesn’t seem to run any of the google script code I wrote into the addEdit() function.

Thanks and having a blast making apps.

Peter

Hi…I wouo like to know how the order number is been generated
…the script

can you please post the script you wrote and which cells is the app writing to

this is the google script. the app is writing to a few fields, one of them is pie count and one of them is address. The app writes to the correct fields but the script doesn’t seem to run.

function onEdit(x) {
addOrder(x)
}

function addOrder(x){

var row = x.range.getRow();
var col = x.range.getColumn();

var price1 = 8.99
var price2 = 10.99

var editDate = new Date();

var orderNumber = row - 1;

var streetAddress = x.source.getSheetByName(“Orders”).getRange(row, 15).getValue();
var city = x.source.getSheetByName(“Orders”).getRange(row, 16).getValue();
var state = x.source.getSheetByName(“Orders”).getRange(row, 17).getValue();
var zip = x.source.getSheetByName(“Orders”).getRange(row, 18).getValue();
var commaSpace = ", ";
var deliveryAddress = streetAddress + commaSpace + city + commaSpace + state + commaSpace + zip