Sort rows in sheet

Need to sort rows in sheet (table). For example sort by item id, but in the sheet.
If you add new rows, you cant sort them by column

What’s the purpose of needing data to be sorted in the table itself?

Just imagine 2400 items, 2400 rows originally sort by item id.

ART

ITEM ID

ITEM

ITEM 1

ITEM 2

ITEM 3

ITEM 4

ITEM 5

ITEM 998

ITEM 999

ITEM 2300

ITEM 2400

Every week i have to add Ă­tems and erase Ă­tems.

I add row but it goes to the last record. After several weeks y don´t remember if one item has been added or not. If the item id column were able to be sorted from A-Z ascending order, it would be very easy to know if one item id is repeated or not. Otherwise i am completely lost.

I use Glide tables, not Google sheets

Sorting a column should be a basic opcion in Glidde

thanks

The idea is that the data editor is made to store and process data. The layout editor displays the data including filtering and sorting it.

I’m not a developer, and I discovered this when I started Glide, and at the beginning, I too felt like sorting. I’ve grown to like that the table is raw untouched data. In Google Sheets, to do things neatly, really one tab should be your raw data, then in a second tab, you would duplicate your raw data and filter and sort the data. But most don’t do that and filter/sort on the raw data, which denatures the table and to me feels quite uncomfortable. I guess it’s a question of what one is accustomed to.

If really you want to sort ItemIDs in the data editor, you can. Create a lookup column that looks up your ItemIDs (the result will be a column of arrays), sort this array with the Sort Array column, and pick elements one by one from the sorted array by using a Single Value column.

Notice how the Name column is now sorted in the NameAscending column.

Your table could look similar to the following

Configuration of RowIndex

Configuration of NameAscending

3 Likes