Single Value shows different actual value in Data Editor

My aim was to create a Single Value set to a random Row Id from another table. This would then be used to present a random quote at the top of an Add Form.

I expected to see something like this screen grab from this video:

Instead of a single value for each row I see a different value for each row as follows:

I am concerned about the implied overhead (a random selection from a large table for every row in another large table).

Any advice as to why I am seeing a different value for each row?

I am aware that what I am trying to do wonā€™t actually work because I canā€™t seem to show any calculated rows in an Add Form anyway. So suggestions on how to show a random quote as a ā€˜labelā€™ at the top of an Add Form would also be welcome. (Please bear with me as I am a novice with Glide so Iā€™ve probably missed something obvious. I have searched the forums and documentation.)

Thanks in advance, Matt

Just out of curiosity, why not use the single value to pull the random quote directly?

How big is the table? Unless youā€™re talking about tens of thousands of rows, I donā€™t believe that would be an issue. Even then, itā€™s probably not a problem.

That appears to be how it works. To be honest, I donā€™t use Single Value->Random that often, so I donā€™t recall if that is correct behaviour, or a bug.

Yes, you should be able to, as long as the column exists in the table the form is directed at. Just add any sort of text component and point it at your random quote. (I just tested this to be certain, and it works).

1 Like

I wanted to pull some other data as well

Not too big but it makes me uncomfortable to get random O(n) x O(m) when all I need is random O(n). It makes me shiver :wink:

Starting to look like a bug to me but like you say, maybe it doesnā€™t matter.

I must be doing something stupid, none of my derived columns appear in the Add Form as field option. Iā€™ll keep playing around.