Is it possible to automate the deletion of data in a column?

Hi everyone !

I’m new to Glide and I work for a non-profit association in France (I’m sorry if my english isn’t good). We propose activites like dancing, drawing, aerobics, etc.

I’m currently making an app that lets our members register each week for specific activities (the activites won’t change, and neither will the date and time). My question is: is there a way to automate the deletion of data in a column, so it can be reset for the following week ?

Thank you in advance for your help,

Alexandre Cuny

If I were u, I would rather automate creating new records (same activity with different dates) and set a content filter in Glide by ‘This week’ date.

1 Like

Maybe this thread will help here!

2 Likes

Maybe we need to know better about your data structure here. How are you recording the “registration” of a user for an event? Is it a new row in another table or something else?

Bonjour Alexandre :clap:

I’ll answer in English but feel free to switch over to French.

Automatically deleting data from a table

• No, you cannot automate the deletion of data in a Glide Table.
  • No, you cannot automate the deletion of data from any table (Google Sheets for instance) natively in Glide. You could write (or find) a script in AppScript in Google Sheets, but this would not be a native function in Glide and this would not be nocode. Basically, this can be done, but only outside the Glide ecosystem.
  • Deleting data is an action. As of now, actions in Glide are triggered by a user, they cannot be time-triggered (for example “Perform this action daily at midnight”).
  • See Jeff’s method in the thread shared above to simulate automatic deletion, by having a user action perform the action you need without the user knowing (such as deleting data).
2 Likes