Inventory of products per event

Hi,
I’m quite new to Glide and apps. I have two tables: events and products.
Per event, we need to count the number of products before and after.

What do I need to do to make this work? For each event, the two numbers need per product need to be stored somehow. And I’ve been trying getting my head around the logic behind this, but the right solution hasn’t yet come to my mind… :wink:

Thank you very much!

All best,
Luka

What is it that causes the number of products to change, and how do you record that?

It’s our stock. We count it manually before an event and afterwards. They are entered manually on an event edit screen.
I now had an idea by creating a new table and an action that creates a new row whenever an event is created. There I would create two columns for each product (as the products very rarely change). That’s not efficient/intelligent, but it was a quick idea/workaround.

If wanted something a little more elegant and more scalable, what you could do is create a 3rd table, lets call it a Product Movement table.

The idea is that every time a product item is added or removed, it gets recorded in that table. You could have the following columns:

• Date/time: when an item is added or removed
  • ProductID: unique product identifier, that links to the Products table
  • Quantity: how many
  • EventID: if associated with a specific event, an ID that links the movement to that event

You could then calculate pretty much anything you need with queries, relations and roll ups.

2 Likes

I just finished an assets management app for events. We add every asset unit as a row. Makes app way simpler although takes a lot more rows. We have asset tracking enabled so we need to know the exact location of every asset within an event and hence need each unit in a row.