Hello from Australia

Greetings all, embarassed to say I only recently learned about the existence of Glide when it popped up in my Google feed. It looks very slick indeed.

I am a Product Expert in the Google Docs help forum, with a special interest in Sheets and Google Apps Script, and also web development in general. By profession, I am an optometrist.

Question: I’m still coming to terms with navigating around here - I have seen mention of an imminent Glide native spreadsheet solution, which I think means a Google Sheets alternative. Is there any announcement/information about this that someone can point me towards?

Cheers
Adam

3 Likes

Welcome to Glide! This is the main thread abut Glide sheets:

https://community.glideapps.com/t/please-help-us-test-glide-sheets/14194?u=deena

2 Likes

@Deena’s post may not be visible to everyone, since it’s in the Insider’s category, but basically in the same way you can have glide only column types, you can have an entire sheet that that is contained only within glide and not synced back to google sheets. It’s currently being tested and hasn’t been released yet, but main advantages are in keeping the data entirely within glide and bypassing the google sheet altogether. It won’t be as robust as a google sheet, but anything you can see and do within glide now would also be available within a glide only sheet. This provides speed and the potential for a much larger capacity without the bottlenecks that currently exist when syncing data back and forth to a google sheet. This also potentially cuts costs to glide as well and allows for a greater amount of sheet to glide updates for those that are only using a free plan. In the future I hope to use them in a hybrid form where some of my data would reside entirely within glide and some within the google sheet.

3 Likes

Many thanks to you both - I can see the thread that @Deena linked just fine.