Gather data from one tab (data table within Glide) to another

Hi there, I’m kinda new to Glide since a few days, and in my app I want to use data from one table to another (like 2 separate tabs filled with data) to be able to reuse data according to a certain value in the first tab.

I don’t know if I am kinda clear, relations don’t work and I can’t find a way to separate every data, it’s either all or nothing.

Thanks !

Hello Arnaud, welcome to Glide’s community forum.

A few random ideas:

1. Are you sure you need to copy data from one table from another? If possible I would consider other options first.

2. Table architecture. Imagine I’m creating a Things tab on which I will display a collection of Things. In the Data Editor, I create a table called Things Tab and don’t touch it (I might touch it at the outset). I create a second table called Things Collection where I will store data related to the Things collection. Each of my tabs have their own table, each of my collections have their own table, and I keep these tables strictly separate.

3. One-off methods to copy data. You can right-click on any table and duplicate it. You can right-click on any table and do a data import. You can select cells in one table and copy-paste them into another. Below the Users table, you can import a file.

4. As long as the style of a tab is custom, any collection, and therefore any table, can live on any tab via a collection component.

5. Fetching data from another table. You can leverage the Single Value column. In the destination table (the table you are copying the data to):

• Create a dynamic RowIndex column: RowID column, lookup of RowID column, find element index of RowID column.
  • Create a Single Value column to pull in a column from the origin table: Single Value column, from start, RowIndex, column from the original table.
  • Repeat with Single Value columns to fetch additional columns.

I hope this helps.

1 Like

Hi Nathanael, thanks for your answer !