Cloning private app and using it publicly, not being able to access data with row owners even if field value is blank, workaround needed

Dear Glide community,

I have an app where our customers calculate offers for their customers. This is (among other tables) done in the “request” table which contains a lot of formulas which calculate or pull data from other tables. It would be a lot of work to rebuild it manually plus the potential of errors while doing so.
Therefore I cloned the app and kept the old data reference (by not keeping it, the new table only has data fields and no formulas), thinking I can now use the functions of the “request” table without sharing the data publicly, since the table has row owners. Further thinking that a user of the public app can fill data and leave the row owner field blank within his session and still be able to temporarily see/use his data.
Since the table has row owners this plan didn’t work, which I understand now and I’m in need of an idea for a workaround to have either another functional copy of the table that I can access in the public app or any idea how to make this data available to a user without him logging in.

Thank you so much in advance.

Best
Sascha Camilli

My best suggestion is to duplicate the app and be sure to select the copy sheet option. This will make a copy of the tables, but retain any computed columns. Then delete any previous data from your private users in that duplicate app. You will need to recreate many of the basic columns in your Request table as user specific columns and change your computed columns, components, and actions to use the new user specific columns (create the new columns, use Find Uses for the old columns, make the changes, then delete the old columns). This is because you will have to rely on user specific columns instead of row owners to keep user data separate. Do not apply Row Owners because it will not be useful in this case. You should also only need one row in the Reports and your users will just update that same row over and over. Since users will not be signed in, it will not save any of the data permanently.

2 Likes