Allow users to only submit once

Hi there, I’m relatively new to Glideapps and I’m struggling to solve an issue.

I’m looking to allow users to only submit a form once. I’ve looked at a couple of tutorials and followed them without success.

Could somebody provide me a tutorial on how to allow users to only submit a form once?

I’m assuming there’s some way to look up the user’s submission info and then subsequently revoke access to the form.

Ideally, I’d love to follow a video tutorial or detailed screenshots

Many thanks,
Mark

Your best bet is to set a visibility condition on the form button itself. What you’d do is create a relation between your responses sheet to your user profiles sheet. Basically, if that relation is not empty, then the user appears in the responses sheet (so they’ve submitted the form). You can then put a visibility condition on the form button to have it only show if that relation is empty.

2 Likes

Ok cool. Do I have the setup correct? I’ve currently got 3 tables of information.

Users | Events | Submissions

The current user journey is that they go to an event, submit a form for a specific event, and then it appends the form submission table.

I’m looking for users to be able to submit forms for multiple events. Would what you suggested work for that use case?

In that case, the user needs to be able to submit the form more than once.

It sounds like you want to remove events from the list of event choices if the user has already submitted the form for a particular event. Is that right?

If that’s the case, your best bet is to gather the choice of event prior to the form submission — make a choice component in a details page, then have a form button underneath it. In the form, that choice a user makes can get passed to the form through a Column value.