Search by column

Hi All,

tl;dr: I have two columns with numbers. A Long Serial number (Visitor Unique ID, 6-9 figures long)) and a short serial number (Sequential ID 1-999 figures long).

I often need to search for a Short Serial Number, but this one very often appear in the Long Serial Number making it really difficult finding the row I need containing the Short Serial Number.

This is the relevant structure.
Long Serial Number, Short Serial Number
847267639, 673

I’m new to Glide but I do have some experience with now and low-code tools.
I’m finding it hard to understand how to solve my issue, Does anyone have any suggestion on what I should do? Making a column specific search was, I thought, a basic feature.

I appreciate all your help in advance! Thank you.

You would have to build your own search functionality. A text entry component pointing to a user specific column, then either a query column that filters based on the entered user specific value, or a single value column in your data that retrieves that user specific value so you can use it to compare to your short serial number in a filter.

Thank you for the quick answer, Jeff!

However, I’m not sure I quite follow and understand what my next steps should be.

I’ve just tried both options you suggested but got a little lost in the logic of it.

What do you have so far?

I have my data in a collection and a text input named “Search Input” above it

I created a user-specific column and connected the text input to it.

I have a filter on the data collection that compares my Short Serial to the User Specific column.

But I feel like I’m missing something essetial to the process.

Sounds like you are close. Is it not filtering the collection properly? How is your filter configured?

I’m sure I am close.

This is the screenshot of my filter. The word “סידורי” means “Serial” in Hebrew.