Order that data appears

I have a tab on which participants can monitor who has donated to their fundraiser. There’s probably an easy way to do this, but I’m new to Glide. Here’s what I’ve done so far.

I have columns on my attached Google Sheet for Donor 1, Donation 1, Donor 2, Donation 2, Donor 3, Donation 3, etc. I then add those fields to a basic table component. I have the columns as I described all the way to Donor 200, Donation 200.

I’d like the most recent donor and donation to appear on the TOP of the list that the participant sees, older donations further down the page.

Would I start to build my table with Donor 200 and Donation 200, then Donor 199 and Donation 199, etc, all the way down to Donor 1 and Donation 1. Or is there an easier way to put the "newest’ donor and donation information on the top of the table? (You can see in the screenshot that I have entered the Donor and Donation fields in the exact WRONG order for the most recent to appear on top.)

woah! That’s a lot of columns!

I think you might find it easier if you arrange your donations in rows, rather than columns.
You could set up a sheet with the following columns:

• Date (donation date)
  • Donor (who donated)
  • Amount
  • User (which user it was for)

Then to extract the donations for any given user, you can create a relation back to your users sheet.
And getting the donations with the most recent appearing first is just a matter of ordering by date.

1 Like

You’re right. I’m sure there’s any easier way. I probably said that wrong in the earlier post. I do have the info organized in rows. See screenshot of Google Sheet.

How do I “create a relation back to my users sheet”? How do I delete a column?

Thank you for helping me.

No, you have your sheet the wrong way around. What you need is one row for each donation, with just those few columns that I mentioned above. Maybe get that set up correctly first, then we can move to the next step :slightly_smiling_face: