Google sheet script to remove column or row

I know i seen it in here and now can’t find it. I have a wish to have the script look at a date and if date has passed … remove row.

I’m trying to learn this script deal for my app

Just make a copy of this example. Enjoy. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/194gEy7jjDi17kBqPHxRZnfxOAIQI9bZf60rw1RggJaM/edit?usp=sharing

1 Like

ok george ty but can you tell me how it works?

Since you mentioned writing a script I assumed you knew something about scripts. Go to Tools Script. You will see the script functions there. The test_… function calls the actual delete row function. You should be able to follow the logic but if not, you will have to go online and take a look at a few Google Script tutorials.

In the end you would create a timed trigger to run nightly to remove the rows. How that is done can also be found by doing a Google search.

im just getting into it to learn and ty when i goto script tolls it is not there and ass i look to view formulas it says can only view and i then sent you a request to view

Have you considered just applying a filter that will only show entries on or after today, or are you actually looking to delete the row from the sheet?

Jeff,
i would like to be able to automatically remove a row when the dates have expired from multiple sheets
and as i was looking up about the date. i wanted to sort by date and my date is mm/dd/yyyy and i seen where you told someone to switch the date format to yyyy/dd/mm and then that worked for them so i did try what you suggested but must be i did it wrong or glide does allow that format.

here is what i have … a sheet for each member on my app so the i pull there data to a master sheet and i want to take the expired dates and have it auto remove that row.

You would need a script then to remove the dates.

As for sorting, I’ve kind of changed my stance on dates a bit.