Does learning web development help in building Glide apps?

TL;DR Would taking a full stack web development class through something like Udemy be helpful in making more advanced Glide apps?

I work part time for my company working on apps, primarily for different conferences throughout the year. My degree is in Computer Information Systems, but college was 10 years ago and I don’t remember many specifics from my intro classes into a few different programming languages. I haven’t worked specifically in that field, and I’ve only kept up skills with some spreadsheet formulas (which has been helpful for Glide).

I’ve made several different apps with Glide so far and I’ve been able to implement some more advanced features like basic gamification with a leaderboard (with help along the way from others in the community!). There’s been a handful of times when I’ve wished I could do a more advanced layout, implement features that are sometimes possible, but involve complicated workarounds or simply make my apps more efficient. I’ve seen the experimental code column and talks of JavaScript implementation which has me wondering if it’d be worthwhile to dive back into learning some web development.

What would be best to focus on? HTML, CSS and JavaScript? Is it worth it to learn beyond those for the purposes of working with Glide? Or would taking some kind of course on spreadsheet formulas or Google App Scripts be more worthwhile?

I’m thinking about buying this course once it goes on sale (https://www.udemy.com/share/101W9C3@9y4NBSrXyo3c2maYSRkw4mZ-31Il_5xzFY0CoHKKQi9Jl1Sl68vEdzRVd3Melk4=/). I’ve also briefly looked into Mimo and SoloLearn.

Has anyone taken that course or similar ones or used learning apps that have ended up helping you in your implementation of Glide apps?

1 Like