Adding Row ID as Role From another Table?

Morning,
I’m new to Glideapps, but enjoying it. However, I’ve struggled for two days to figure out how to create a Role relationship between two tables. In the User table, I have a column called Company ID. This is the role for users so all users from one company can see the same information. The company table has a row ID, however, I cannot for the life of me figure out how to use an automation after the company is created to add the new company id to the User table as the Role.

Screenshot 2023-06-19 at 7.31.53 AM
What am I missing here?
Thanks for your help.

A user can only assign a role that he himself possesses. Adding dynamic roles is only possible with the use of a 3rd party tool like Make. If your plan permits you could use the Glide API to write the role back to Glide.

2 Likes

Ah. I see. That’s a big bummer. I guess I won’t use Roles. Instead, I’ll have to figure out how to add row owners to every row. That’s also a real mess… How can I add multiple email addresses to any row? I’m not sure how to do that either.
Thanks a ton for the quick answer, Eric. That clears up my struggles.

1 Like

If I understand correctly to add multiple email addresses to the same row it’s as simple as adding more columns to hold those emails. Then somewhere in your flow you need to set the values to those columns.

This only works well if there is a max limit to the number of emails that need access to any given row. Otherwise it won’t scale.

FYI you can make multiple columns in the same table row owners.