# User experience different than preview mode

**URL:** https://community.glideapps.com/t/user-experience-different-than-preview-mode/64074
**Category:** Ask for Help
**Created:** [July 18, 2023, 6:06pm UTC](https://community.glideapps.com/t/user-experience-different-than-preview-mode/64074 "2023-07-18T18:06:58Z")
**Posts on this page:** 1
**Showing post:** 10

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![Jeff\_Hager](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/flex002/user_avatar/community.glideapps.com/jeff_hager/32/43_2.png) [@Jeff\_Hager](https://community.glideapps.com/u/Jeff_Hager)
#### Post date: [July 18, 2023, 8:26pm UTC](https://community.glideapps.com/t/user-experience-different-than-preview-mode/64074/10 "2023-07-18T20:26:38Z")

</div>

> [@concreteguy](#):
>
> I guess to accomplish this in this scenario, I treat ‘Customer’ as a blank role and filter tabs for when role is empty. All other roles are created in the data table (Contractor, Estimator, Admin). Alternatively, I’ll create an additional column as you’ve suggested if I find any gaps.

These are both viable options.

> [@concreteguy](#):
>
> filter data where ‘email’ is ‘signed in user

Filter is definitely not a secure method of protecting data. Tech smart customers could still snoop the underlying data of other users. I would still use Row Owners, but instead of asking row owners to a role, you simply apply row owners to a customer email address in the quotes table. If Contractor, Estimator, Admin also need access to the same data, and they still have a Role through user profiles, then you can add 3 additional columns in the quotes table and apply row owners to those columns as well. Then fill each one with Contractor, Estimator, Admin as necessary.

Since you would be using the customer’s email for row owners, then they wouldn’t be considered a private user.

This may help your understanding.

> [@Glide Privacy Flowchart](https://community.glideapps.com/t/glide-privacy-flowchart/60957):
>
> Configuring the Privacy Settings for your Glide App can sometimes be a little confusing, especially when it comes to understanding how each of the settings affect whether your Signed In Users are considered Public or Private. The below flow chart aims to demystify that somewhat. A couple of key points to understand and be aware of: If you choose Private Access, then all users will be Private. If you choose Public Access, then that doesn’t necessarily mean that all your Users will be Public. …

> **[Row Owners | Glide Docs](https://www.glideapps.com/docs/essentials/security-and-user-data/row-owners)**
>
> A secure way to restrict access to certain rows.

---

_[View the full topic](https://community.glideapps.com/t/user-experience-different-than-preview-mode/64074)._
