# Glide Tables (Data) - deleting ones not linked to an app

**URL:** <https://community.glideapps.com/t/glide-tables-data-deleting-ones-not-linked-to-an-app/68220>\
**Category:** Ask for Help\
**Created:** [November 28, 2023, 10:32pm UTC](https://community.glideapps.com/t/glide-tables-data-deleting-ones-not-linked-to-an-app/68220 "2023-11-28T22:32:42Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 3\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Andrew\_Davies](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/flex002/user_avatar/community.glideapps.com/andrew_davies/32/41838_2.png) [@Andrew\_Davies](https://community.glideapps.com/u/Andrew_Davies)\
**Post date:** [November 28, 2023, 10:32pm UTC](https://community.glideapps.com/t/glide-tables-data-deleting-ones-not-linked-to-an-app/68220/1 "2023-11-28T22:32:42Z")

</div>

Hi all

I recently duplicated my app - and as I want both apps to use the exact same data and to be kept in sync - I chose “Keep the same sheets”

I want one of my apps to be open access with no sign in just to show a “dashboard” of data. There will be no user interaction with the second app (It will be shown on a big display in an office)

I am using Glide Tables.

But it got me thinking about how Glide Tables work (as in database tables on the data tab)

I think I am right in saying that - in the data editor -

- If I delete a table from one of the apps - it has gone for the other (and indeed all linked apps)
- Same goes for records / data / row - change one, it changes in both ( I nearly deleted all my users in the second app! 😵)
- If I un-link a table, it gets removed from the current app - but does not get totally deleted (I can re-link it to an app of I need)
- If I delete an app - are all the tables deleted, or just unlinked?

Bottom left, under data source, I can see all my, er, data sources - including ones that have not been liked. How do I see / delete the un-linked ones if I can’t access them through an app?

Just curious more than anything - though that said, some likely have a lot of images so I could do with the storage space back

Thanks,  
Andrew

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Jeff\_Hager](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/flex002/user_avatar/community.glideapps.com/jeff_hager/32/43_2.png) [@Jeff\_Hager](https://community.glideapps.com/u/Jeff_Hager)\
**Post date:** [November 28, 2023, 10:44pm UTC](https://community.glideapps.com/t/glide-tables-data-deleting-ones-not-linked-to-an-app/68220/2 "2023-11-28T22:44:12Z")

</div>

> [@Andrew\_Davies](#):
>
> If I delete a table from one of the apps - it has gone for the other (and indeed all linked apps)

I don’t think Glide allows you to delete a table if it’s used in other apps, but theoretically, Yes…same table means exactly that…multiple apps are connected to the same single table.

> [@Andrew\_Davies](#):
>
> Same goes for records / data / row - change one, it changes in both ( I nearly deleted all my users in the second app!

Yes, it’s the same shared table, so it’s the same shared data.

> [@Andrew\_Davies](#):
>
> If I un-link a table, it gets removed from the current app - but does not get totally deleted (I can re-link it to an app of I need)

This is correct.

> [@Andrew\_Davies](#):
>
> If I delete an app - are all the tables deleted, or just unlinked?

They are only unlinked. They are not deleted.

> [@Andrew\_Davies](#):
>
> How do I see / delete the un-linked ones if I can’t access them through an app?

I think you would have to first add (link) a table to a dummy app if you want to permanently delete it.

If I’m deleting an app and the tables are no longer needed, I have gotten into the habit of deleting all of the linked tables in the app before deleting the app.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Andrew\_Davies](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/flex002/user_avatar/community.glideapps.com/andrew_davies/32/41838_2.png) [@Andrew\_Davies](https://community.glideapps.com/u/Andrew_Davies)\
**Post date:** [November 29, 2023, 5:25am UTC](https://community.glideapps.com/t/glide-tables-data-deleting-ones-not-linked-to-an-app/68220/3 "2023-11-29T05:25:04Z")

</div>

Thanks Jeff as always

Guess I’ll need to make a new “dummy” app, link all the un-wanted tables, then delete them one by one

Thanks again  
Andrew
