# Glide Privacy Flowchart

**URL:** https://community.glideapps.com/t/glide-privacy-flowchart/60957
**Category:** Community Resources
**Created:** [April 25, 2023, 2:30pm UTC](https://community.glideapps.com/t/glide-privacy-flowchart/60957 "2023-04-25T14:30:57Z")
**Posts on this page:** 1
**Showing post:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![Darren\_Murphy](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/flex002/user_avatar/community.glideapps.com/darren_murphy/32/47326_2.png) [@Darren\_Murphy](https://community.glideapps.com/u/Darren_Murphy)
#### Post date: [April 25, 2023, 2:30pm UTC](https://community.glideapps.com/t/glide-privacy-flowchart/60957/1 "2023-04-25T14:30:57Z")

</div>

Configuring the Privacy Settings for your Glide App can sometimes be a little confusing, especially when it comes to understanding how each of the settings affect whether your Signed In Users are considered Public or Private.

The below flow chart aims to demystify that somewhat.

A couple of key points to understand and be aware of:

- If you choose Private Access, then _all_ users will be Private.
- If you choose Public Access, then that doesn’t necessarily mean that all your Users will be Public. It depends what you subsequently select for Sign In and User options.
- If you configure [Roles](https://www.glideapps.com/docs/reference/security-and-user-data/roles) in your App, then any User that you assign a Role to will always be a Private User, no matter what the rest of the settings are.

 ![CleanShot 2023-06-25 at 19.34.33@2x](https://us1.discourse-cdn.com/flex002/uploads/glideapps/original/3X/b/d/bd54382c87f00685b552900f20a5eaaebf72f7fe.png)

Further reading:

> **[Users | Glide Docs](https://www.glideapps.com/docs/essentials/users)**
>
> Learn how to create user-specific experiences.

---

_[View the full topic](https://community.glideapps.com/t/glide-privacy-flowchart/60957)._
